Host Family Letter

Hey, hab grad meinen Host Family Letter fertig gemacht und würde mich über Verbesserungsvorschläge wirklich freuen. :slight_smile:

Dear Host family,

First of all I want to thank you for reading this letter and spending time on getting to know me better. I am really looking forward to staying a year abroad in your country. In the following lines I want to introduce myself and tell you something about my family, hobbies, everyday life and my hopes and expectations for the upcoming year.

My name is Fabian, I’m 16 years old and I’m 6.0 feet (185cm) tall. I live with my mother, sister and our cat Lisa in X, a small village near Hamburg in the north-west of Germany. Every second weekend I visit my dad, who lives in X as well. I attend the 10th grade at the X X and my favorite subjects include English, physical education and computer science. After school I want to study Video-Game Design and create my own video-games.

I think the relationship between my parents and me is very good, because I can tell them everything and they help me with my problems and such. Sometimes there are conflicts, but none of them last long. I never have any fights with my siblings either. I’ve got a 21-year old brother and a 19-year old sister and we get along with each other pretty well. The relationship between my family members is good, even though my parents are divorced we still celebrate things like Christmas and Easter together as a whole family.

In my free time I like to play video-games and I also really enjoy editing videos and pictures digitally. I’m also generally interested in music and I like all kinds of music, from movie soundtrack to electronic music. I played piano till 3 years ago and I enjoyed it, but then school got more serious and I didn’t have that much time left for it. I also played soccer for a few months in a soccer club, but I quit for the same reason I quit playing piano. But in summer holidays I still go out with my friends to a local soccer field and play for fun. In addition I started going to a fitness center in December last year and I hope I will be able to continue doing so in Ireland, though it wouldn’t be that big of a problem if not. My chores at home include loading and unloading the dishwasher and cleaning my room. I’m generally a tidy person.

I want to make an exchange year, because I’m very interested in other countries and cultures and I love to travel. When I’m grown up I want to travel as much as I can. I also want to become more independent and be able to speak English fluently. My brother, who recently spent 12 months in Australia, told me about his experiences and it sounded amazing. I’m really interested in your country and your culture and I hope I can learn a lot about it while being there. I chose your country, because I was in Ireland last summer for a week and it was wonderful. The landscape, the people, everything was just great and it’s so different from Germany. Maybe I can tell you about my country and culture and we can exchange our thoughts. The school system in Ireland also seems to be a lot different than the school system here and I’m looking forward to getting to know it. I especially like that there is so much activities offered after school, we don’t have that here in Germany.

My friends would describe me as a humorous, honest and flexible person. Sometimes I tend to be a little shy when I don’t know someone very well, but that stops when I get to know that person better.

Best regards from Germany,

Poste das doch im Austauschschüler-Forum!

Das Gastfamilienforum ist für Menschen gedacht, die Gastfamilie sind oder werden wollen! Dieser Bereich hier ist für die private Gastfamiliensuche gedacht.